Bylaws Committee

Chair: Karen Shatola

The Bylaws Committee shall periodically review the Bylaws and Standing Rules and make recommendations to the Executive Board.

Child Development

Chair: Mona Valenzuela

This committee responds to concerns and issues raised by Child Development educators.


Chair: Marie Garcia

This committee responds to issues involving counselors.

Dual Language Immersion

Chair: Janet Chung

This committee responds to issues and concerned raised by Dual Language Immersion educators.


Chair: Ken Lambright

This committee assists the Elections Chair with the responsibility of conducting Association elections. Members of the committee also assist with Service Center and State Council elections.


Chair: Wei-Tsu Loh

The primary purpose of this committee is to make comparative studies and recommendations concerning insurance plans for certificated district employees.


This committee responds to concerns and issues raised by Kindergarten educators.

Membership Engagement

This committee is involved with all issues related to getting members engaged with their union and profession.


Co-Chairs: Miguel Arraras and Diana Bermudes

This committee raises awareness to members about issues important to our association and creates a response to those critical issues by taking action.

Political Action

Chair: Tyra Weis

This committee studies legislative proposals which relate to education and makes reports to the membership. It also studies political issues, interviews candidates, and takes an active role in elections for the benefit of public education.


Chair: Brian MacFarlane

The Grievance Committee is responsible for implementing the grievance program. Representatives of the Grievance Committee assist unit members of APT in processing grievances. The Grievance Committee shall carefully consider the merits of each grievance and make recommendations to the Executive Board regarding the submission of grievances to arbitration. Every grievance filed helps to further define the contract language. On a regular basis, the Grievance Committee shall keep the Executive Board and the Bargaining Team informed regarding the operation of the grievance program.

Special Education

Co-Chairs are Yolanda Gardner Horn and Opal Johnson

This committee addresses the issues faced by both regular and special educators in dealing with the special needs population.

Website Coordinator

Chair: Michael Dyer